× 844-762-8449

September 13, 2022

LEED Scoring

CALL NOW 844-762-8449

LEED Scoring

When you build certified LEED buildings, you can improve efficiency, lower carbon emissions, and save money. These buildings are healthier for the people living or working within them. The LEED scoring system will help you see what’s necessary and how your building project can meet the LEED certification requirements.

Common Types of LEED Projects

1. ID+C 

ID+C, which stands for Interior Design and Construction, is a category used for projects without access to the entire building. These projects will have access to a defined inside space, which may include a single office, a hotel in a mixed-use building, or a retail shop.  Adding new options for smoke controls, different daylight specifications, improved air quality, and better acoustic performance can help achieve a LEED ID+C certification.

2. BD+C

A very common option known as Building Design and Construction, BD+C is used for new construction projects. The LEED scoring focuses mainly on the design phase and will follow through the entire construction process. It can be used for many properties including data centers, hospitality, healthcare, retail, offices, and more.

3. ND

ND certification or Neighborhood Development doesn’t look at just a single property like most. It focuses on the entire neighborhood to create a more sustainable community.

4. O+M

Building Operations and Maintenance or O+M is a LEED project that looks at the phase of a building that uses the most resources and energy. It focuses on existing buildings and interior spaces. 

5. Homes

Used for residential projects, the LEED Homes project fits single-family homes, 1-3 story multi-family buildings, and 4-6 story multi-family buildings. It has similar LEED scoring criteria as commercial property projects.

6. LEED Zero

this type of LEED certification is for buildings in the net-zero category. This includes Carbon, Energy, Waste, and Water. It’s necessary to achieve net zero for 12 months to get this certification.

7. Cities and Communities

For cities and larger communities in urban areas, the LEED Cities and Communities can be used. It’s related to the Quality of Life, Energy, Water, Transportation, and Waste

8. LEED Recertification

There is also a LEED program known as recertification. Buildings that have gone through LEED scoring and achieved certification, but would like to achieve a higher ranking, can go through LEED certification.

What are the 7 LEED categories? 

The seven different LEED categories involved in the LEED scoring system include:
  1. Energy and Atmosphere – Earn up to 35 points
  2. Sustainable Sites – Earn up to 26 points
  3. Indoor Environmental Quality – Earn up to 15 points
  4. Materials and Resources – Earn up to 14 points
  5. Water Efficiency – Earn up to 10 points
  6. Innovation in Design – Earn up to 6 points
  7. Regional Priority – Earn up to 4 points
You can earn up to a possible 110 points for a LEED building project.

How does LEED scoring work? 

The LEED scoring works based on submitting LEED documentation and data to earn credits. Each credit has a point value. For example, you can earn 1 to 19 points for an energy cost savings of 12% to 48% for new buildings or 8% to 44% for existing buildings. Some credits are worth more points than others.

What is the LEED rating system? 

The LEED rating system includes four levels you can earn by submitting credits for a specific number of points. Your building will go through a verification process and you will be awarded points throughout this process.  The four levels within the LEED rating system include:
  1. Platinum – 80+ points – This is the highest possible level for LEED certification. The environmental aspects will need to be maximized and only about 10% of buildings will qualify for a platinum LEED ranking.
  2. Gold – 60 to 79 points – About 50% of buildings end up qualifying for gold LEED certification. It’s the most common level for certification.
  3. Silver – 50 to 59 points – About 30% of buildings will reach this level of LEED certification.
  4. Certified – 40 to 49 points – The most basic level of LEED certification, Certified is achieved by about 15% of all buildings that have a LEED ranking.
The LEED scoring includes LEED credits found in different categories.  About 35% of the credits that can be earned have to do with climate change. Another 20% of the credits have to do with the direct impact on human health. The impact on water resources makes up 15% of the credits, while 10% has to do with biodiversity and another 10% has to do with the green economy.  Another 5% has to do with impacting the community, and the final 5% has to do with the impact on natural resources.  LEED v4.1 puts the majority of the LEED credits in the category of embodied and operational carbon. With a better understanding of LEED scoring, you can make sure your project earns the level you want.

Waste Removal USA Provides LEED Reports in the Following Cities:


Our Reviews

Based on 122 reviews
Tyler Johnson
Tyler Johnson
19:21 02 Dec 23
Always the best customer service.
Melodie Stephens
Melodie Stephens
16:49 21 Nov 23
easy to contact - friendly and helpful - do what they say they will do
Anderson King
Anderson King
20:22 16 Nov 23
Garrett took care of us asap
George Frank
George Frank
17:56 13 Nov 23
Very easy to talk to very professional and efficient
Redden Hayes
Redden Hayes
12:50 07 Nov 23
Great customer service.